June Books

Most of the first week of June was spent on a beautiful private beach in Croatia, which gave me plenty of time to catch up on my reading. I usually prefer more active and ‘culturally-filled’ holidays but it was bliss to be able to unplug and just relax in the sunshine with a good book. I actually read four books in a little less than four days…

June Books

Confessions of Modern Women | Spadge Whittaker
I loved Spadge first book and I was very much looking forward to reading her latest one so when she ran a promotion for her birthday, I jumped on the occasion! I’d like to say I read it in one sitting, but I actually had to stop after the second chapter because I was giggling too much to see the words… I didn’t laugh as much as I did with Braver Than Britain, mostly because many of the confessions are cringe-worthy (which is funny in itself) and in some cases, a bit too relatable. Definitely a must-read if you are a modern woman – or just because. For those interested, the book is available on Amazon for ridiculously cheap.

The World According to Bob | James Bowen
This book has been in my to-read list since the minute I finished the first instalment of Bob and James’s story – the powerful story of a man ‘saved’ by the cat who adopted him. This second book recounts how the bond between the two friends grew even stronger and how James came to write the first book, A Street Cat Named Bob (which I also recommend). I was very touched by James’s life, not only because of our shared affinity for cats but because after working with a marginalised clientele for years I am always happy to see the so-called success story. And in James Bowen’s case, it was quite a success, indeed!

Still Life | Louise Penny
I rarely say a book is bad but sadly, this one truly is. I chose it from the Kindle store purely because the story was set in a village near Montreal and I quickly regretted my choice, though I ended up finishing the book. It is badly written, with useless and interminable descriptions of cliché characters and a istery so easy to untangle that you can only wonder how it took so many pages to do so. To be fair, it was Penny’s first novel and hopefully the following ones are better – I can’t tell. I did find interesting to see life in Quebec from an anglophone’s point of view but that’s about it.

The Kicking the Bucket List | Cathy Hopkins
It wouldn’t be a proper beach holiday reading list without some chick lit! The story of three very different, estranged sisters reunited after their mother’s death. It’s well written but the changing of voices is sometimes a bit confusing. Otherwise, it’s a light-hearted novel most times but it touches serious subjects and can get a bit emotional at time. A rather enjoyable beach read…

I Thought It Was Just Me (But It Isn’t) | Brené Brown
After coming back home, I got into some more serious reading with this self-help book about shame, authenticity, imperfection and acceptance. Here’s an extract from the back cover: ‘Based on seven years of ground-breaking research and hundreds of interviews, I Thought It Was Just Me shines a long-overdue light on an important truth: our imperfections are what connect us to each other and to our humanity. Our vulnerabilities are not weaknesses; they are powerful reminders to keep our hearts and minds open to the reality that we’re all in this together’. It is excellent, very eye-opening and I highly recommend it!

Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “June Books

LEAVE A REPLY

